Author blog awards 2010

The Winners!

We’ve had an unbelievable response to the nominations and voting stages with thousands of readers and writers supporting their favourite author blogs.

The results of the author blog awards were announced at the London book fair 2010. Congratulations to the Winners and a bit thank you to everyone who voted.

The winners come in three categories:

Best published author blog
Winner: Emily Benet
Runners-up: Cleolinda Jones & Jackie Morris

Best author microblog
Winner: Neil Gaiman
Runner-up: Richard Jay Parker

Best unpublished author blog
Winner: Sam Starbuck
Runner-up: Jane Alexander

Everyone who voted will have the chance to win something from our fantastic selection of prizes. We’ll notify you shortly if you were a winner. You can see more information about the prizes on our prizes page


There are over 10,000 published and unpublished authors blogging to readers, writers and industry professionals. Despite huge loyal followings and a remarkable wealth of new content, many readers remain unaware of these blogs.

The Author Blog Awards is brought to you by CompletelyNovel and aims to honour the best blogs by both published and unpublished writers. They will recognise the writers who use their blogs to connect with readers in the most imaginative, engaging and inspiring ways. At the same time we hope to attract new audiences to these blogs and help readers find out more about the authors they love…and new authors too.

Blogs are a great, affordable means for any writer to reach their audience directly – so we want to recognise the best of them!


The final stage of the competition is upon us. Blogs with the most nominations from the nominations phase will be featured on the shortlist. Everyone is invited to vote for their favourite blog or microblog. The blogs with the most votes in the categories of published author, unpublished author and microblog will be declared the winners.

Everyone who votes will have the chance to win one of our great prizes.
Our winners will be announced on Tuesday 20 April at the Official London Book Fair Tweetup (meet-up organised on Twitter) in partnership with Publishing Talk.. There’s more information on the Tweetup here.


To help promote your favourite blog, you could put a badge of support on your website. Go on…give them a hand!

All you need to do is copy and paste the embed code below into your website or blog and the badge (on the left) will appear:

Embed Code

WordPress users may find that they need this plain html badge:

For more tips on promoting your blog – head over to our Promote your blog page.


Are you on Facebook? Please join our Facebook Author Blog Awards event and let your friends know about the awards. too.

Follow us here on Twitter

Terms and Conditions

No purchase necessary. Only one entry to the competition per person will be accepted. Winners will be selected at random and the judge’s decision is final. Some prizes will be restricted to entrants inside of certain geographic locations. Only entrants with confirmed email addresses will be eligible. All nominations must be received before 2nd April 2010, nominations received after this date will not be included.


You can take a look at the blogs that have been nominated so far by heading over to our Nominees Page. The nominations close on 2 April 2010.


If you would like to become a partner please email
The Blog Awards are managed in partnership with @JonSlack

Our Prize Cabinet

Here are some of the prizes up for grabs for anyone who nominates or votes. More info about the prizes can be found here

Prizes from Allison & Busby
Prizes from The Random House Group
Prizes from Quartet
Prizes from Simon & Schuster UK
Prizes from Headline
Prizes from Faber & Faber
Prizes from Mills & Boon